Board of Directors

Floyd Price - Chairman(3)


Mr. Price has served as a Director of Tamarack since June 2010 and is an independent businessman. He is also a director of Cimarex Energy Co., a U.S.-based oil and gas company listed on NYSE, since December 2012 and was previously a director of Gastar Exploration Ltd. from June 2010 to January 2013. In addition, he has served on the boards of several privately-held oil and gas focused entities. Prior thereto, Mr. Price was Executive Vice President of Apache Corporation from February 2003 to October 2009.

Jeff Boyce(1)(2)


Mr. Boyce is a senior oil and gas executive with over 35 years of domestic and international experience in building, financing and managing public oil and gas companies. He is currently President of Evsam Holdings Ltd., a privately held investment company. Previously, he served as Executive Chairman and Director of PetroAmerica Oil Corp. prior to its acquisition in 2016, and was a co-founder, Senior Executive and Director of Sure Energy Inc., Clear Energy Inc. and Vermilion Resources.

Noralee Bradley(3)(4)


Ms. Bradley has practiced corporate law in Calgary for over 26 years and is currently a partner at the national law firm of Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP. Ms. Bradley has extensive experience in mergers and acquisitions, financings and board governance. She has a Bachelor of Commerce, Finance, and a Juris Doctor of Law from the University of Saskatchewan. Ms. Bradley was a member of the executive committee of the Institute of Corporate Directors, Calgary Chapter from 2010-2016 (serving as Chair in 2015-2016), has served on the Executive and Compensation Committees of Osler (2012-2016) and was previously a director of Angle Energy Inc., a TSX listed company, from June 2004 until its acquisition in December 2013.

Ian Currie(2)(4)


Mr. Currie is a professional engineer with over 30 years of oil and gas experience. He is currently the President and CEO of Spur Petroleum Ltd., a privately-held oil and gas exploration and production company. Previously he served as President and CEO of Spur Resources, Ltd. from 2006 until its acquisition by Tamarack in January, 2017. Prior thereto, he was Vice President, Operations at Profico Energy Management from its inception in 2000 until its acquisition in 2006, and held senior operational roles with Renaissance Energy Ltd. since 2002.

John Leach(1)(3)


Mr. Leach is a Chartered Professional Accountant with over 23 years of oil and gas experience and is the Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer of Crew Energy Inc., a role he has held since Crew’s spin out from Baytex Energy Ltd. in 2003. Previously, he was a founding member of Baytex Energy Ltd. since 1993, serving in their finance department in increasing roles of responsibility culminating as its Vice President, Finance from 1998 to 2003. Mr. Leach has been a CPA since 1991 and is a graduate of the University of Saskatchewan.

David MacKenzie(1)(2)


Mr. MacKenzie is an independent businessman and long-time President of the privately-held Lincoln Group of Companies, which has been making private equity investments in the oil and gas, technology and real estate industries since 1990. While leading the Lincoln Group of Companies, Mr. MacKenzie has occasionally served as a director and/or executive officer of certain companies in which the Lincoln Group has invested in, including having served as President of Avant Garde Energy Corp. from September 2009 until its acquisition by Tamarack in June 2010. He has also served as a director for various publicly-held companies.

Brian Schmidt (Aakaikkitstakii)

Director, President & Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Schmidt is the President, CEO and a founder of Tamarack, and is a professional engineer with over 35 years of oil and gas experience. Mr. Schmidt is an honorary chief of the Blood Tribe in Southern Alberta and sits on the board of the Indian Resource Council. He is currently a member of the Board of Governors of the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers and acts as the Chairman of the Indigenous Engagement Priority Steering Group as well as the Saskatchewan Policy Group. Previously, Mr. Schmidt was founder, President and Chief Executive Officer of Spearpoint Energy Corp. from June 2008 to July 2009 and past President of Apache Canada Ltd. from May 2004 to June 2007. Mr. Schmidt was also a director of Aspenleaf Energy from 2016 until 2018, Avant Garde Energy Corp. from November 2007 to June 2009 and was a director of TUSK Energy Corporation from June 2007 to April 2009.

Robert Spitzer(3)(4)


Mr. Spitzer is an experienced professional in the upstream oil and gas field with over 34 years of industry tenure. Mr. Spitzer is currently an independent businessman. He was previously the Executive Vice President of Apache Kitimat Upstream from 2013-2015 and the Vice President New Ventures of Apache Canada Ltd., a wholly-owned subsidiary of Apache Corporation, from 2005-2012. Prior thereto, Mr. Spitzer held a variety of exploration and development-based positions with Apache Canada Ltd. and Shell Canada Ltd. He has a Master of Science in Remote Sensing (Geologic Application) degree and a Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Geology and Geography, both from McMaster University.

(1) Member of Audit Committee of the Board of Directors
(2) Member of the Reserves Committee of the Board of Directors
(3) Member of the Compensation & Governance Committee of the Board of Directors
(4) Member of the Health, Safety & Environmental Committee